Wildflowers of Namaqualand by Annelise le Roux

Annelise le Roux
Botanical Society of South Africa
Year published: 

Namaqualand covers five of the eight ecographic units of the Greater Cape Floristic Region: The Namaqualand Hardeveld; Namaqualand Sandveld; Kamiesberg Mountains; Gariep and the Knersvlakte. Combined these have 249 endemic species. This field-guide covers all five of these units with large images of clearly photographed plants of 548 species of both common and rare species.

The book is the latest edition of one of the oldest Botsoc field guides, Annelise le Roux having spent a lifetime researching flora in the region and founder of the Namaqua Research Station.

There is an overview of each genus, concise descriptions for each species, habitat information and flowering time. The pictures are by numerous photographers but especially those of le Roux and Zelda Wahl.